How to Delete Venmo Transactions
At this point in time, you are probably aware that there are a variety of apps that you can download onto your phone and sites you can access from your laptop or desktop computer that allow you to transfer money to family and friends. Venmo is one such app, and the reason many people find it appealing is that it’s easy to use and funds are transferred quickly.
Another aspect that makes Venmo so intriguing is its social aspect. Not only can you send people money, but you can also see what your friends are up to. Of course, if you want to keep some of your wheelings and dealings private, you might be wondering how to delete Venmo transactions.
How to Delete Venmo Transactions
If you are wondering how to delete Venmo history, you may be disappointed to find out that you can’t. Even if you go so far as to delete your account, the transactions will still be available on the server and in the history of the person you sent the money to.
However, even though you can’t delete Venmo history, there are some things you can do to ensure your privacy. This includes not having your transactions appear in the public feed.
The information that can be viewed in the public feed when you send money to another person includes the following:
- Names and pictures of the people involved
- The date
- The time
- The reason for the transaction
If you send the other person a message, that will show up as well. The only thing others can’t see is the amount of money that was sent.
This may be more information than you’re willing to share. If that’s the case, then you may be wondering how to delete Venmo history, but since you can’t, you’ll have to change your privacy settings. These are the steps you’ll need to ensure your transactions don’t show up in the public feed:
Step 1: Log in to Your Venmo Account
The first thing you’ll need to do when wondering how to change your privacy settings is to log in to your account.
This can be done using the app on your phone or by going to Venmo on your desktop or laptop computer.
Step 2: Access Your Settings
Once you have accessed your account, you’ll then need to go to the Settings option.
This option is found under your profile information and has an icon of a gear next to it.
Click on it.
Step 3: Change Your Privacy Settings
After you click on the Settings options, a new window will open, and you’ll see a new list of options to choose from.
Look for Privacy on the left-hand side of the page and click on it.
Step 4: Choose Who Sees Your Transactions
Once you have clicked on Privacy, you will see a list of options in the center of your screen. There are three default privacy settings for your account:
If you don’t want anyone to see your transactions, except for you and the person you are sending the money to, then you’ll click on the “Private” button.
Should you find that you are okay with your friends knowing what’s going on, then you will click on the “Friends” option.
Click on the circle on the left. If it’s blue, this is the option you’ve chosen.
Step 5: Change All Your Payments
Once you have clicked on the circle on the left, you’ll then need to go to the “Past Transactions” section. Here, you will find two choices:
- “Change All to Friends”
- “Change All to Private”
Choose which one works for you.
Step 6: Confirm Your Choice
After clicking on the button to change your past transactions to be visible only to friends or only to you and the person you sent the money to, a new window will open. To change your privacy settings, you will need to confirm your choice.
Click on the “Change to…” button.
Step-by-step guide: How To Check If Amazon Gift Card Has Been Redeemed
How to Delete a Venmo Account
Should you find that you no longer have a desire to use Venmo to transfer funds to friends and family, in addition to wondering how to delete Venmo history, you might also be asking how to delete a Venmo account.
While you can’t delete Venmo history, you can get rid of your Venmo account, and these are the steps you’ll need to follow:
Step 1: Log in to Your Account
This can be done on the app on your phone or through your desktop or laptop computer.
Step 2: Check Your Fund Balance
If you still have a balance of funds or transactions that are in progress, you won’t be able to close your account.
To keep the money that’s in your account, you’ll need to transfer it to your bank. Typically, this can take a few days, but if you want an instant transfer, you’ll need to pay a small fee.
Once your current transactions have cleared and/or the funds have been transferred to your bank, you can proceed with the next steps.
Step 3: Go to Settings
To permanently delete your account, you’ll need to go to Settings.
This can be found under your profile information.
Step 4: Click on Profile
After you click on the Settings option, you will want to click on Profile. This is typically the first option on the list.
Step 5: Close Your Account
At the bottom of your profile information, you will see some blue text that says, “Close my Venmo Account.”
Click on this.
Step 6: Choose Next
Once you have clicked on the close your account option, this will open a new window that asks you to review and download the most recent statement you have on your account.
Click Next to do these steps.
Step 7: Permanently Delete Your Account
After reviewing and downloading your statement, you can then close your account. You’ll do this by clicking the “Close Account” option.
Step 8: Go to Your Email
To ensure your Venmo account has been permanently deleted, you’ll need to go to your email that was associated with your Venmo account. If you aren’t already logged in, you’ll need to type in your credentials to get access to your messages.
Look for a farewell email from Venmo, which should also include your transaction history.
Step-by-step guide: How to Change Shipping Speed on Amazon Prime
Controlling Your Transactions
A lot of people like to use Venmo because it’s easy and funds are transferred quickly. There is also a social aspect to the site.
However, if you find that you don’t want everyone knowing who you are sending money to, then you might be wondering how to delete Venmo transactions. You can’t actually do this, but you can control who sees your transactions by changing your privacy settings. These are the steps you’ll take to change your privacy in Venmo:
- Step 1: Log in to Your Venmo Account
- Step 2: Access Your Settings
- Step 3: Change Your Privacy Settings
- Step 4: Choose Who Sees Your Transactions
- Step 5: Change All Your Payments
- Step 6: Confirm Your Choice
- Step 7: Save Your Settings
You might also decide that you no longer want a Venmo account. If that’s the case, you might be asking how to delete a Venmo account. These are the steps you’ll take to achieve that goal:
- Step 1: Log in to Your Account
- Step 2: Check Your Fund Balance
- Step 3: Go to Settings
- Step 4: Click on Profile
- Step 5: Close Your Account
- Step 6: Choose Next
- Step 7: Permanently Delete Your Account
- Step 8: Go to Your Email
The above article may contain affiliate links, which help support Clever Sequence